Conference: The Ethics of Human Rights

Conferences

The Ethics of Human Rights

This international and interdisciplinary conference tackles several key questions concerning human rights today: What is the most claims to human rights can achieve? How can human rights be a starting point for making claims on the nation-state? Are human rights claims necessarily addressed to nation-states? And what alternative political visions do human rights exclude? Panels of leading anthropologists, legal theorists, political scientists, and philosophers will discuss and debate these questions. Workshop proceedings will appear as a symposium in the Centre’s open-access journal.

Preliminary Schedule

12pm [= 9am Pacific/5pm UK/6pm Central Europe]
Panel 1: Field Notes on Human Rights
Catherine Bolten
, Associate Professor of Anthropology, University of Notre Dame
Ayça Çubukçu, Associate Professor in Human Rights and Co-Director of LSE Human Rights, London School of Economics

1pm [= 10am/6pm/7pm]
Panel 2: The Borders of Rights
Angela Riley,
Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law
Ayten Gündoğdu, Tow Associate Professor of Political Science, Barnard College
Yanilda Gonzalez, Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government

2:30pm [= 11:30am/7:30pm/8:30pm]
Panel 3: Human Rights and Ethical Claims
Benjamin Davis
, Post-doctoral Fellow in Ethics, University of Toronto, Centre for Ethics
Kelly Staples, Director of Learning & Teaching, Politics & International Relations, University of Leicester

This is an online event. It will be live streamed on the Centre for Ethics YouTube Channel at 12pm, Friday, July 9 [= 9am Pacific/5pm UK/6pm Central Europe]. Channel subscribers will receive a notification at the start of the live stream.

Fri, Jul 9, 2021
12:00 PM - 03:30 PM
Centre for Ethics, University of Toronto